April 29th 2017

·
sun
····in the evening’s rooftops—cafés lighting
········streets
·
·
This one could really be a summer’s haiku (perhaps if one is being particular about seasons & haiku). It’s a long week-end in Berlin, May Day, and the streets are packed. Everywhere you look there are families and teens pulling luggage behind them. The wheels rattle over the cobblestones.
·
The photo at bottom comes from the Savigny Platz, S-Bahn Platform. These intaglios have been part of the brick wall (the side of an apartment building) since I was a child.
·20170428_124526
The picture at right is of the crow I promised yesterday. Not a close-up but if you care to identify the kind of crow she is, then you click on the image, I think.
·
Much colder today. Though the leaves are out, everyone dresses as though it’s February. I returned to Schönhauser and had another pastry from the Baeckerei on the corner of Stargarder Straβe—all of it freshly baked every day and every day something different. I don’t know if it’s the best in Berlin, but if you think you’d like to visit the area, I recommend it (and could give better directions).
·
When Germans ask me what part of the states I’m from, I tell them I’m from Vermont and am greeted like a best friend. To a person, they’ve told me they love Bernie.
·
It’s evening in Berlin, I’m sitting outside at a café and my fingers are icy. There are bicyclists everywhere and children running up and down the sidewalk. Evenings in Berlin can be beautiful, even on a cold night. Everyone’s looking for a place to sit, to enjoy a beer, glass of wine or company.
·
20170429_162104
·
119 April 29th 2017 | bottlecap
·
Leave a Reply

