April 28th 2017

·
pastry
····crumbs between the cobblestones—April
········in Berlin
·
·
I traveled north to another part of former East Berlin, Schönhauser, and it was beautiful as any neighborhood in former West Berlin. I’m told (and remember seeing) that the buildings were severely neglected by the time East Germany collapsed. Buildings were near the point of condemnation. The fall of wall couldn’t have happened any sooner.
·
In the meantime though, the neighborhoods of Schönhauser have been beautifully restored. If it’s not possible for me to get a better connection, I may have to wait until I’m back to post the best of the many pictures I’ve taken. The picture below is the view from the flat at which I’m staying.
·
As with my own corner of Berlin, close to Savignyplatz, the streets were full of parents and children, side by side and on bicycles. Bicycles are everywhere. The city feels youthful. I saw a mother and her  girl eating pastries outside a Bäckerei and took that as a good sign. Had one of the best pastries I’ve had since leaving Berlin some twenty years ago.
·
A took a good picture of that crow sitting on a street sign yesterday. Very friendly and unafraid. Soon as I can, I’ll introduce this crow to the world.
·
20170428_091230
·
118 April 28th 2017 | bottlecap
·
3 responses

  1. “When Germans ask me what part of the states I’m from, I tell them I’m from Vermont and am greeted like a best friend. To a person, they’ve told me they love Bernie.”

    The Germans are nice to everybody. I’m an inveterate redneck by Vermont standards and they treated even me warmly. To quote just one, “I love you, Cliff”—and that was from a guy! One even invited me to move to Germany from NC and guaranteed me both a wife and a job there (Augsburg). However, as I thought about it, I’ve always preferred my neighbors a field or at least a very big yard away, and you can only get that kind of space on the cheap in NC. Other obstacles included my fear of flying and no First Amendment. In Germany I’d pretty much have to give up blogging lest I risk a kick in the door from the BKA.

    • That’s true about the first amendment, but the Germans are also far, far less prudish than Americans (more grown-up I’d say). In effect, the artistic and intellectual culture in Germany can feel freer (and is freer) than in the US, what with Xtian fundamentalist priggishness running through our culture and governance. There’s also not the same willful ignorance and suppression of science. But Europe has other problems, for sure.

  2. God how I wish they could mobilize those qualities to increase their fertility rate. It’s the lowest in the industrialized world right now. Below the replacement level.

Leave a Reply

