October 6th 2016

·
braiding
·····garlic under October’s paper thin
········moon
·
·
I  don’t so often warm up by reading other haiku. As with blank verse, haikuI’ve internalized the form. When first writing blank verse I counted each syllable and sweat over every variant foot. Similarly, with haiku, I wanted to be sure I wasn’t writing something that would have been unrecognizable (to a Japanese poet). I can’t ultimately judge my success or failure in that regard, but I do think there’s an aesthetic core that’s common to all my haiku, even if I can’t always put my finger on it. I’ll return to a haiku day after day, as with the October 3rd haiku, until I feel something familiar in its lines. My favorite collection of haiku remains the same as when I started, the Shambhala Anthology of Japanese Poems.
335 October 6th 2016 | bottlecap
·

Leave a Reply

