my little wildflowers

Death RattlesI’ve noticed spell checkers have a problem with my English. It’s this: They don’t like my irregular verbs.

This post will be short.

First of all, to the powers who decide what words are acceptable: Screw You.

I am not going to use dreamed instead of dreamt. I will not write lighted instead of lit. I will not write leaped instead of leapt, kneeled instead of knelt, sneaked instead of snuck, or shined instead of shone. Underline that little word if you like, but my words are spelt correctly. I grew up with them and I like them.

I won’t let these little beauties, clinging to the field’s fringe, be mown down.

I, the poet, love them.

They’re my little wildflowers and I’ll sprinkle them in prose and poetry wherever I like.

·

Vermont Poet (Color Corrected)

One response

  1. “First of all, to the powers who decide what words are acceptable: Screw You.”

    I agree, and beyond the scope of irregular verbs. People hide from beautiful-sounding, precision-aiding words because…I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s like the attitude that drives a type of consumerism–getting rid of something that’s perfectly fine to create the illusion of progress through needless change. Personally, I don’t think words should be like smartphones, mere tools of uniformity designed to become obsolete.

Leave a Reply

