A little something different · A Dollhouse Bookshelf

·

So I’ve been busy carpentering. Thought I’d show off a bookshelf I made for my daughters. The perspective is a little askew. Despite  appearances, it’s not leaning. My daughters painted the roof. The roof is bead board ply. From the top, the roof  has the look of channel drain (something we stumbled on, but kind of cool). My daughters wanted the attic (for their dolls) split into three rooms. They made a ladder (missing in the photo) for the dolls to climb to the attic.

·

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

·
·
·
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

·

To the left is a doll’s eye view out of one of the windows.

·

·

·

·

·

·

·

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe photo at right was taken after the dolls’ moving van had  arrived. The dolls were very, very excited to be moving in. As you can see, the library was already beginning to be stocked. The poetry section will be on the second floor.  You can also see the ladder, now in place.

·

·


The materials were all left over bits and pieces, but to buy the materials new would cost roughly $115 dollars (that’s for #2 knotty pine 1×12 boards, 1/2 inch plywood and bead board top), not including paint and polyurethane. I used water based urethane with an oil suspension because it darkens the wood just a touch better than plain water-based finish. I plan on building another one. It took me about  2 days of work (though it was on and off again). It’s not fine finish work (which I can do) but the dolls’ patience was wearing dangerously thin. I plan on building another one for a silent auction (for our school). If you think you’d like one of these, send me an E-Mail. Not sure how I’d get it to you, but where there’s a will, there’s a way. P.S. The tall shelf on the left is for those ridiculously big books – an atlas and a couple of astronomy books.

~ up in Vermont

6 responses

  1. Very nice!! Those are fortunate dolls. And they will be well-read, too! With all those staircases, at first I thought you were going for the Escher look. Jim C.

  2. Oh! How precious! You did such a great job! If only we still had children………..oh what a treehouse I would build……and what a beautiful blog YOU have built for all of us to enjoy!

    Respect & Admiration,

    -R-

  3. What a great gift you’ve given your girls! I would love to be a kid again and have one of those for myself. Unfortunately, my house is too small (and full) to accommodate one!

Leave a Reply

