Solstice Haiku

  • Just a couple days ago, I sent out a query to all the haiku bloggers on my blogroll, and any others who might be interested, asking if they wanted to put together some solstice haiku.

Here are four haiku from William Sorlien:

shortest day
or the longest night
life is choices

§

the longest night
studying old photos
of winters past

§

winter solstice
with it a reckoning
in falling snow

§

solstice night
ice fishing alone
over deep water

And here is a haiku by Jeffrey Winke author of, among other books,  Meow Poetry: Fun, fabulous, feline verse:

§

And here are two Haiku by Jim Long, author of Between Wings:

§

My own tradition is to write an Erotic Haiku at every solstice and equinox (though I hardly need a rationale). It’s just an enjoyable tradition. So, here is Patrick Gillespie’s erotic Winter Solstice Haiku:

  • Dec 22 ❧ Just received two more Haiku.

Here’s a Haiku from Bill at Haiku-USA:

in an old yearbook
that girl I never kissed–
winter solstice

§

And one more from one of my favorite bloggers, Emma Dalloway, at Australian Haiku:

7 responses

  1. i love your haiku, feel free to visit me and comment on my Haiku, I don’t know how to write yet, but tried.

    Take care!
    Best!

Leave a Reply

