Haiku – The Spiritual Way

I’m not a good poet. A good poet writes everyday.

This is my effort to put my mind on the right way and be a good poet- one Haiku a day. Here is what I have written so far and I’ll try to add a Haiku every day. I’m going to blog the contents of my first book of poetry; and add other poems as I write them.

So slow
The spider in the snow crawls
Toward sunlight.

Spring 2000

The fly peers
Through the frosted window — so much
Hand-wringing.

Fall 1999

The scarecrow waits
At the crossing: the train and then
The leaves.

Aug. 16, 2008

Why so soon
In your evening raiments? –
August clouds.

Aug. 17, 2008

The crow calls
So softly and the moon comes
Over Mooselauke.

Aug. 29, 2008

Daddy longlegs – eight
And still not enough to keep you
Out of trouble.

Aug. 29, 2008

No use sunning
By the road. Snake, I’ll find some shade
To bury you.

Aug. 30, 2008

Fireflies, where
Do you go? I want to go
Too.

Aug. 31, 2008

The blossoms
Of the pumpkin vine – so orange –
My daughter’s fever.

Sept. 3, 2008

Shadows cross
The mountains on a cloudless night –
Geese flying south.

Sept. 11, 2008

Nothing but
The green, green grass – cows
In September.

Sept. 12, 2008

No better place
Than on the road, the horse
Shits.

Sept. 14, 2008

The dog
Walks past the storefront. What need
For fashion?

Sept. 14, 2008

Leave a Reply

